Spontaneity

It had some construction going on. nevertheless, This is the sign to reel you in!

It had some construction going on. nevertheless, This is the sign to reel you in!

The walls

The walls

doughseed

doughseed

Pistachio-YEAST

Pistachio-YEAST

My cup of Joe!

My cup of Joe!

Partners in Crime

Partners in Crime

orange blossom creme =Amaze!

orange blossom creme =Amaze!

My “New York,” friends have been going on and on about this, “awesome” pastry shop that sales, “awesome” espresso and incredible doughnuts.  They’ve told me that they sale cake doughnuts, peanut butter and jam, YEAST, and these cutie patootie doughseeds.  I’ve been telling myself multiple times; “I will make a date to go meet up with some cool peeps that are down to check it out.” 

Unfortunately, during all of my vacay trips to NY none of the above happened.  This particular Thursday I made a date with spontaneity.  ‘I want to go to doughnut Planet;today I will go!’  That is exactly what happened, I was in a whirlwind determined to get there.  I promptly ended my gmail chat, hopped in the shower, got dressed quickly and headed out the door to the Grove st. PATH. Luckily the PATH is en route to the city (if you catch it going to 33rd), so it stops about 5-blocks from this doughnut/espresso gem.

If you didn’t already know I am a self-proclaimed coffee snob.  My coffee has to be superlative. I’ve had espresso sweet as butter and some that was bitter as toe nails on a bad day ( not that I’ve tasted toe nails or anything), I’ve had fresh coffee washed down smooth with a splash of almond milk and some that tasted burnt, accompanied by the grainy taste of grinds.  It goes without saying, my coffee MUST  be impeccable.

On this impetuous trip to Doughnut heaven I enjoyed a cup of: Kiss Of Africa coffee, a pistachio Yeast donut and a cashew-orange blossom creme doughseed.  This place did not disappoint to say the least. It was more than I imagined it would be. The decor inside was intricately curated (their creative director is amaze),with doughnut art on the walls and a retro-disco-metallic ambiance in the bathroom.  I felt like I was in the 70s/2070 future. It was bizarre yet, equally pleasant and amazing. I was dripping in euphoric awesomeness once I exited the place.

I won’t go into to too much detail because it just won’t do you justice unless you jump off your tush and try the place for yourself!

Enjoy!

here’s the location:

Doughnut Plant

220 W 23rd St
New York
(212) 675-9100

Posted By: JoBell 🙂

Leave a Reply

